Sunday, 20 January 2013

Barfi! and Kahaani rule the roost at Filmfare Awards

Barfi! and Kahaani rule the roost at Filmfare Awards

Kahaani and Barfi!It was a night of cherishing two of the amazing films that we saw last year – Barfi! and Kahaani. Both the films received the maximum awards at the Filmfare awards last night.

The movies were not only unusual but also path-breakers of sorts. The movies which had won our hearts, won many awards in several categories at the 58th Filmfare Awards.

There was competition but none that could surpass the marvel of Ranbir Kapoor in Barfi! And no doubt, yet again he was awarded the Best Actor award for the film. Ileana D’cruz with her lovely performance took away the Best Debut Award (Female) for the same film. Barfi! won 7 of the 9 awards it had been nominated for!

The Best Background Score and Best Music Director awards went to Pritam for Barfi!, and award for Best Production Design went to Rajat Podar for the same film.

Vidya Balan’s breath-taking portrayal of a pregnant woman in Kahaani won her the Best Actress award another time!

Kahaani continued its winning spree as Sujoy Ghosh was handed the Best Director Award, Sanjay Maurya and Allwin Rego took away the award for the Best Sound Design.

Two major awards for Kahaani came from Namrata Rao bagging the Best Editing title and Sethu winning Best Cinematography.

Vicky Donor was a movie we all loved and no doubt the lead, Ayushmann Khurrana was loved even more. He had a double bonanza yesterday winning both the awards for Best Debut (Male) and Best Playback Singer (Male) for the song Paani Da.

The story of Vicky Donor which stood out in an industry with so many stereotypes, won the Best Story Award for Juhi Chaturvedi. Best Actor Supporting Role (Male) was handed out to Annu Kapoor for the same movie.

Anushka Sharma won Best Actor in Supporting Role (Female) award for Jab Tak Hai Jaan, while Gulzar won the Best Lyrics award for Challa from Jab Tak Hai Jaan.

Gauri Shinde, the Director of English Vinglish won the Best Debut Director award.

The The award for Best Dialogue went to Anurag Kashyap, Akhilesh Jaiswal, Sachin K Ladia and Zeishan Qadri for Gangs of Wasseypur. Best Screenplay Award was given out to Sanjay Chouhan and Tigmanshu Dhulia for Paan Singh Tomar.

Award for the Best Playback Singer (Female) went to Shalmali Kholgade for the song Pareshaan in Ishaqzaade.

Filmfare Award for Best Action went to Sham Kaushal for Gangs of Wasseypur and Best Choreography to Bosco-Caesar for the peppy and groovy song Aunty Ji from Ek Main Aur Ekk Tu.

Neeti Mohan won the RD Burman Award for New Music Talent for her beautiful rendering of Jiya Re from Jab Tak Hai Jaan and Ishq Wala Love from Student Of The Year.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was given to the Late Yash Chopra. His wife Pamela Chopra received the award from Madhuri Dixit Nene on his behalf. Incidentally, Madhuri had worked in Yash Chopra’s Dil To Pagal Hai which was one of his most successful directorial ventures.

Filmfare Critics Award for Best Actor Male was given to Irrfan Khan for Paan Singh Tomar and Richa Chaddha won the same award in female category for Gangs of Wasseypur. Best Film in this category was awarded to Gangs of Wasseypur.

The event was hosted by Shahrukh Khan, Saif Ali Khan and Karan Johar. The Filmfare Award, which is generally a black lady was decorated with a golden base this year to commemorate the 100years of Indian cinema.

Full article at: Celebrity Gossip


Post a Comment